DmC: Devil May Cry Review

After reading and viewing dozens of reviews on the upcoming game DmC: Devil May Cry. I can say with certainty that I will be purchasing this game to try it for myself. Of the reviews I watched and read, a lot of them seemed to gloss over many of the negative points in the game. It was almost as if the reviewers didn’t want to get down and dirty and really evaluate and look at this game analytically. Instead it appeared as if they just sat there worshiping the ground it walks on. This felt like something was missing from a lot of the reviews. I thought to myself that this game can’t actually be this good, especially with a new developer taking the reigns for the first time. Only a select few reviews captured what I was looking for, and really took the evaluation and analytical sense into account. Coincidentally, these also seemed to be the least biased reviews from what I saw, and I saw a lot!

I think that, when it really came down to processing all of the info. I had acquired, a lot of these reviews seems over-confident and over-hyped. Save one that I really enjoyed from a man who knows what he is talking about. Adam Sessler has revolved his life around video-games and technology, getting his start on the channel “G4”, being the host of video-game show “X-Play”, Adam Sessler has developed a very good reputation in the gaming community. That being said, he has a strong influence towards gamers in his reviews, with them being very accurate, informative and very non-biased. This is what I look for in a review, and what I hope others look for as well. The game lacks a certain pop to it that makes the past Devil May Cry games what they are. This ,by no means however, makes it a bad game. On the contrary, it’s a very good game with lovely visuals and smooth combat mechanics from what I’ve played in the demo, and that was just work in progress. Where it really falls short in my opinion would be the writing. It seems kind of static, with not enough room to let the actors shine. But when it’s good, IT’S GOOD. You really have a feeling of connection to the characters that makes you care about them.

All in all, I think DmC: Devil May Cry will be a good first game to hit the shelves this year and start off the new collection. I can’t wait to get my hands on it and further evaluate it.
Hopefully the year’s line-up of games won’t fail to impress.

IGN Review: http://www.computerandvideogames.com/386326/dmc-devil-may-cry-review-round-up-series-reboot-hits-the-high-notes/

Adam Sessler Review: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rRyN6qUZ9Mc

Time review: http://techland.time.com/2013/01/14/dmc-devil-may-cry-review-not-so-divine-dramedy/

Leave a comment